Events

February 27 2017

Stormwater Scorecard Introductory Webinar

Monday, February 27, 2017 at 01:00 PM · 19 rsvps
Online

Green Communities Canada is working with Canadian Freshwater Alliance to help communities change the way rain is managed on the landscape using green infrastructure. This introductory webinar will walk you through our new stormwater scorecard designed to benchmark progress in your community in adopting transformative policies and programs. The tool is uniquely focused to offer insight on next steps for your community to advance green infrastructure. By contributing to this project, you also will help establish some benchmarks for the advancement of green infrastructure across Canada.   

View details

March 09 2017

Fresh Ideas Webinar: Community-based water monitoring

Thursday, March 09, 2017 at 01:00 PM · 9 rsvps
Online

Join us on March 9th at 10am PT / 1pm ET for this discussion on community-based water monitoring (CBWM) programs.

Kat Hartwig from Living Lakes Canada will present on insights gleaned from research on CBWM, sharing challenges and promises of these unique programs.

Megan Peloso from Lake Windermere Ambassadors, a community lead not-for-profit organization in eastern BC, will present on lessons learned from their 10 year old lake water monitoring program.

Audience Q&A and discussion to follow!

RSVP View details

March 30 2017

The Freshwater Alliance Book Club

Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 02:00 PM · 4 rsvps
online

Join us for our first book club discussion! We're reading Rules for Revolutionaries: How Big Organizing Can Change Everything by Becky Bond and Zack Exley.

Rules for Revolutionaries offers a riveting, behind-the-scenes narrative of how a small "distributed organizing" team operating on the fringes of the Bernie Sanders presidential campaign was able to identify, recruit, train, and activate hundreds of thousands of volunteers in an effort to put Sander's insurgent campaign over the top.

Naomi Klein, author of This Changes Everything says "We can win - but only if we continue to develop the kinds of tactics, tools, and vision laid out in this vitally important book, perhaps the first to explore how to organize at the true scale of the crises we face".

Bring your own beverage, and come ready to discuss how we can use these tactics and tools to amplify our freshwater efforts!

We'll be meeting online at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 3pm Atlantic

RSVP View details