Vote For Water: Courtenay-Comox Water All Candidates Forum

Come to meet your candidates and hear what they have to say on water issues in the Comox Valley and British Columbia. 

Water issues are of major concern to Comox Valley residents. In addition to the ongoing inconvenience, expense and controversy caused by problems with our drinking water quality, we are affected by flooding in the winter months and water shortages in the summer. And as in many other places, our community has begun to deal with climate change in the form of sea level rise and more intense rainstorms.

The implementation of the province’s new Water Sustainability Act has been an important response to our province’s water challenges. The Act includes various measures to better understand, measure and manage our scarce water resources, and offers future possibilities for more local control of water. Aspects of its implementation are still in progress and will involve further public consultation. Given the vital role that the province plays in water management, and the fact that everything humans do requires water, we are certain that water related issues are of vital concern to many voting residents in the Courtenay-Comox riding.

We are very pleased that Bob Wells has agreed to moderate the session. Mr. Wells is a City of Courtenay Councilor and a Director at the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD).

You may submit your water-related questions in advance to There will also be an opportunity to ask questions on the night of the event.

This event is hosted by a variety of groups in our community interested in water issues, including the Comox Valley Conservation Partnership (representing 22 local groups including Project Watershed and the Comox Valley Land Trust), the Comox Valley Chapter of the Council of Canadians, The Canadian Freshwater Alliance, Watershed Watch Salmon Society and The Watershed Sentinel.

May 02, 2017 at 7pm - 9pm
Stan Hagen Theatre
2300 Ryan Rd
Courtenay, BC V9N
Google map and directions
Marion Hodgson June Ross Eric and Sharon Foster Sonya Jenssen Erin Brown joan alexander Wendy Kotilla Christine Marie Trisha Kane Hall Kathie Woodley Jesse Ketler Lauren Dean Garth Loga Janice Hayward Nancy Gothard Kerry Dawson Eduardo Uranga Bob Wells Anna Rambow Sonya Marie Jenssen Kayla McDonald Catherine Bell Mike Morrissey Arrow Gonsalves Donna McKinnon Amanda Smith Coree Tull Tanis Gower Fred Hall Lina Azeez

Will you come?

Showing 30 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.